Some fifty (50) nursing leaders from Northern and Central Luzon recently gathered on February 26, 2014 to map out their strategies in preparing the Filipino nurse for the challenges of global competition that will be brought about by the ASEAN Economic Community in 2015.
Attending a Roundtable Discussion organized by the Professional Regulation Commission Baguio Regional Office, the nursing leaders updated themselves on AEC 2015 developments with lectures on AEC 2015 and global competitiveness by PRC Chairperson Teresita R. Manzala, Alignment of Education with the Philippine Qualifications Framework and Mutual Recognition Agreement for Nursing by BON Chairperson Carmencita M. Abaquin, Nursing Competitiveness Roadmap by BON Marco Antonio C. Sto. Tomas, Continuing Professional Development by BON Perla G. Po and Alignment of the Nursing Law to Global Developments through amendments by BON Leonila A. Faire.
The Roundtable Discussion (RTD), held at the Department of Labor and Employment-CAR Conference Room in Baguio City, aimed to capacitate regional nursing leaders in championing global competitiveness programs at the grassroots level and prepare them for regional road-mapping in the Cordillera Administrative Region, Region I, Region II, and Region III. The RTD is one of the activities under the 2014 Planning Tool Convergence Program of the Professional Regulation Commission.
The participants representing the Philippine Nurses Association, Association of Deans in the Philippine Colleges of Nursing, Association of Nursing Administrators of the Philippines, and the Philippine Nursing Research Society formulated their Regional Action Plans and signed a pledge of commitment to implement their respective Plans.
As a follow-through activity, the participants will conduct the regional roadmapping and capacity-building on March 28, 2014 at Saint Louis University. The roadmapping event is being coordinated by a Core Group composed of PRC Baguio Regional Director Teofilo Gaius M. Sison, Jr., PNA-CAR Governor Lolita T. Oracion, PNA Baguio Chapter President Ruth Thelma P. Tingda, ADPCN National Vice-President Dr. Mary Grace C. Lacanaria, and PNRS National President Dr. Erlinda C. Palaganas.

No comments: